top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejsango63

15 - C.O.R.E. - A Gym Built for People Like Me

Updated: Apr 16

Jeannie my horse trainer said I should check out the Center of Recovery & Exercise (CORE), I went into CORE with low expectations and came out with a totally new vision.



They ran me through a series of tests, for example, I had to do a "standing broad jump" in which I scored a long jump of 36". The highlight of my day was the Alter G Anti-Gravity Treadmill. It uses advanced technology to figure out how much of your weight can be removed (mine was 65%) and then you perform at that weight to promote healing, it is very cool indeed.



The cool thing about Alter G is its patented Differential Air Pressure technology developed at NASA. It applies a comfortable and uniform lifting force to your body while being connected to a high-tech treadmill. This allows you to be comfortable while you run or walk normally with a full range of motion.




Check out a 7 minute video on how the Alter G works:




I start a program today (March 3, 2023) and I will let you know how it goes.


They also introduced me to their newest piece of equipment the AllCore360 which is a patented technology that trains all of the body's core muscles with an isometric, balanced, and coordinated technique. The AllCore360 is used to address lower back pain, recovery from injury, and increase overall performance in just 10 minutes per session 3 times a week.





Here's a 5-minute video discussing how it works:



My record on the AllCore360 was 15 degrees in December:






I owe Paul a big shout-out on CORE as well. When I exhaust my available funds in a few months he is going to pick up some additional classes on my behalf, I am speechless but thank him immensely.


I am also working with Dana at the CORE to see what kinds of scholarships are available. I submitted for a scholarship on 3/17/23 and it will be evaluated in June and I'll know by July if I qualify, I'll let you know the results.


Today (3/20/23) the Alter-G was down so I got introduced to the ICARE Madonna Elliptical and ran 5 sets of 2 minutes slow and 1-minute fast. I did it on my own and worked my way up to the high 70s and low 80s. Again, just another treatment option to add to my bag of tricks.







Here is a 9 minute video on the ICARE Elliptical:



Today is April 24th and I got introduced to a new muscle stimulator.




The Nuex NXPro unit is like a "Tens Unit" but offers way more. You can hook it up with the Timer Off or On and play with the Frequency from 50MZ - 250MZ.


You can get more information at https://www.neuxtec.com/nxpro




Well, today is Memorial Day, May 29th, 2023 and I am pleased to announce that I ran One Mile in 13 minutes and 44 seconds (my goal was 14 minutes). It is by a lot of people no big deal but for me, it is huge in just 3 months at CORE.





Now it is time to set my next goal. I am going to attempt running in a 5k (3.1 miles) in December 2023 and my G.O.A.L. trainers will help me get ready.


Today is June 5th and I was re-evaluated. I ran a 6-minute endurance test and got 2,400 steps in or 1.18 miles. I also had a standing broad jump of 43 inches which is 7 inches more in just 3 months at CORE - things are definitely heading in the right direction.


Today is September 6th, 2023 and I set a record for "Leg Lifts" of 320 lbs (On 10/25/23 I lifted 330 lbs.). Only 1 week to go and I see if the perispinal etanercept is going to help me in any way, if not, I am doing good at CORE. The perispinal etanercept worked! Check out my story on that one at https://jsango63.wixsite.com/myconnection/post/18-peri-spinal-etanercept



This is my "team", on the left is Brandon (he focuses on the upper body) and on the right is Austin (he focuses on the lower body). These guys are AWESOME and I wouldn't be where I am today without them.




Brandon exposed me to the SkiErg machine:




It is a machine that copies cross-country skiing. Here's the information on it:



Brandon is also getting ready for "Rowvember" where we will break into teams for the month and see which team measures the most in terms of the guide that is built into it.



Here's more information on the rowing machine:



We had "Rowvember" and I am happy to share that I had a 10,513 post in a 1hr 25min timeframe. I was on the winning team of Matt and Morgan, we logged 389,900 meters and second place was Luke and Sergio with 350,043 meters.


I also was introduced to "cupping" which is ancient Chinese, check it out here:




I also ran in the 5k and gave my friend Jonathan a lift in 53 minutes on December 16, 2023:




H - Wave - What A Breakthrough!:


Check it out here https://www.h-wave.com/ this is a truly drug free pain relief system.


H-Wave is a multi-functional electrical stimulation device intended to speed recovery, restore function, and manage chronic, acute or post-operative pain. It is a non-invasive drug-free alternative treatment option without harmful side effects. This unique technology stands apart from other electrotherapy modalities such as TENS, which only masks pain while the device is on, and traditional muscle stimulators; which use harsh signals and fatiguing muscle contractions to re-educate muscle. Whereas H-Wave is a rehabilitative device that focuses on addressing the root cause of symptoms and providing lasting, cumulative benefits; which patients can feel long after the device is taken off.

H-Wave can be used in a clinical setting, but is most effective when used on a regular basis. Patients can easily use the Home H-Wave device on their own several times per day or several times per week. Treatments typically last 30-60 minutes on average and can be done while relaxing in the comfort, convenience and privacy of their own home or preferred setting. Home H-Wave is used to help relieve pain and help speed the recovery process by increasing blood circulation and lymphatic drainage, improving range of motion, relaxing muscle spasms, and preventing disuse atrophy.













12 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page